Scholarship Recipients

2016 Scholarship Winners

The Phoebe Hamann Music Scholarship is awarded to Annemarie Schubert, Violin. Annemarie is a recent graduate of Lincoln High School and has played the violin for twelve years. She has served as concertmaster for the Junior Youth Orchestra, the Lincoln Youth Symphony, the Omaha Area Youth Symphony and the NMEA All-State Orchestra. She was chosen for a Nebraska Young Artist Award in 2015, has participated in numerous string competitions throughout the state of Nebraska, and was a featured soloist with Lincoln Youth Symphony and the Holiday Spectaculars of the Omaha Symphony. She attends Oberlin College and Conservatory, pursuing a double major in violin performance and chemistry.

The Charles Hamann Music Scholarship is awarded to Lukas McIlhaney, Flute. Lukas graduated from Wahoo High School in the spring of 2015 and has played the flute for eight years. As a high school student, he performed with the All-State Band, All-State Orchestra, the Omaha Area Youth Orchestra and numerous other honor ensembles. He won the Orchestra Omaha Concerto competition and the Lincoln Symphony Orchestra Young Artist competition and has participated in programs at Interlochen and Rocky Ridge. Lukas recently completed his first year of study at the Blair School of Music at Vanderbilt University, majoring in flute performance. 

The Compass Rose Award is awarded to Alex Wooten. Alex is a graduate of Lincoln Southeast High School and is nearing completion of a music education degree at Doane University in Crete. Alex is a member of the National Association for Music Education, has served in numerous leadership roles at Doane, and has performed on campus with the Symphonic Wind Ensemble, Jazz Unlimited, Doane Choir, and Doublewide. He has been music director for productions at the Lincoln Community Playhouse and the Haymarket Theatre. Last spring he was music-director for Doane’s production of Sondheim’s Assassins. 

Phoebe Hamann Memorial Scholarship Past Recipients

2015 - Mary Dowd, Viola; Ben Hadley, Violin
2014 - Charles Dowd, Violin
2013 - Samantha Noonan, Cello
2012 - Erich Gebers, Cello
2011 - Ian Wright, Double Bass
2010 - Sam Loeck, Double Bass
2009 - Keaton Soto-Olson, Double bass
2008 - Lauren Taylor, Violin
2007 - Ashley Rathjen, Violin
2006 - Jessica Dussault, Cello
2005 - Jessica Rajewich, Violin
2004 - Megan Murphy, Viola

Charles Hamann Memorial Scholarship Past Recipients

2015 - Erich Gebers, Cello; Matt Eschliman, Trombone and Piano
2014 - Madeline Noonan, Horn and Voice
2013 - Sam Beck-Johnson, Bass
2012 - Sarah Wolf, Flute
2011 - Laurel Woodring, Violin; Helen Dowd, Violin
2010 - Caleb Bryan Groves, Flute; Natalie Brening, Violin
2009 - Lacey Atkinson, Violin
2008 - Kirsten Wissink, Violin
2007 - Marc Bettis, Violin
2006 - Anne Marxhausen, Violin


From time to time, our Scholarship Committee chooses to award additional scholarships. These are often given in honor of SAIL Camp Board Members or SAIL Camp anniversary years.

2014 Compass Rose Scholarship
Lauren Bydalek, Piano

2012 Compass Rose Scholarship
Sarah Knuth Baker, Violin

2012 Compass Rose Scholarship
Max Oehlertz, Viola

2009 SAIL Camp 25-Year Scholarship
Jennifer Zumwalt, Violin

2009 Marilyn Kelley Scholarship
Johannah Bashford - Cello